Autobiography

Born and raised in Mississauga, Ontario, I worked and lived in Calgary, Alberta for five years prior to moving to Doha, Qatar, where I currently reside.

1c29eec

In 2003, I graduated with a B.A.Sc in OHS from Ryerson University.  Shortly thereafter I began working as an OHS Paralegal under the tutelage of Norm Keith, a leading OHS lawyer. During my time with Mr. Keith, I trained thousands of managers and supervisors across Canada on the concepts of due diligence, the principles of incident investigation, the fundamentals of workers compensation laws, and many other OHS-related subjects.  I co-authored a legal text, spoke at national conferences, assisted in successfully defending hundreds of OHS charges, and represented clients at all levels of workers compensation appeals.  During that time, I also obtained my Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) designation.

In 2009, I began facilitating a two-year diploma program in Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) at the College of the North Atlantic – Qatar.  I obtained international accreditation from the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health (NEBOSH) to embed their International General Certificate (IGC) syllabus into our diploma program and have helped many students obtain this qualification, which I hold myself.  I have also become a graduate member of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health.

Through OHS, I’ve discovered a true passion for teaching and plan to continue this lifelong journey.

