Motivation + Active Learning = Student Engagement

student-engagement

There’s nothing like a Venn diagram to tell it like it is, huh?  It never ceases to amaze me how something so simple can stop you in your tracks.  And such was the case when I laid my eyes on Figure 1.1 of Elizabeth F. Barkley’s Student Engagement Techniques.

As I’ve continued to cut my way through the jungle of adult education (which is sure to be a lifelong journey), it’s images like this that I wish were shown to me years ago. So plain and unadorned yet so profound and powerful.  As it turns out though, student engagement is not nearly as straightforward as the diagram makes it look.

Let’s face it.  We’ve all, at some point, been disengaged as learners for one reason or another.  Why would that be the case if keeping us involved was such a basic formula?

This diagram is going to be the basis for my interest in the Instructional Strategies course and the blog posts that follow.  You can check out my previous post on Motivation by Gamification where unbeknownst to me at that time, I already had some thoughts about this concept.

Leave a Reply

