Creating a Pecha Kucha

In this post I’d like to share some insight on what I went through to create my Pecha Kucha.

Pecha Kucha 1.png

The first and easiest part was creating a PowerPoint presentation, with each of the 20 slides set to transition automatically after 20 seconds.

Then I turned to the classic dramatic storytelling arc:

dramatic-arc

 

I created a table in a word processing document and I color-coded it to match the various stages of the dramatic storytelling arc.  Then I started to write the script while searching for related images, making sure to note the source of each image on my reference slide.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then I used Audacity to record a separate audio clip for each slide, making sure I adjusted my pace, if necessary, to keep each audio clip under 20 seconds.

Pecha Kucha 7.png

Then I was ready to insert each audio clip into the corresponding slide in my PowerPoint, making sure it was set to play automatically at the start of each slide transition:

Pecha Kucha 8.png

Finally, I used a screen recorder to take a video of the slideshow, which played through automatically, and uploaded that video to YouTube.

This was a great challenge for me and I really pushed myself to do a good job.  I’m really happy with the end product and look forward to another opportunity to make some improvements.

Leave a Reply

